Tags

, , , ,

I’m pretty courageous when it comes to my beauty routine. I’ve drenched my hair in olive oil, used a crushed up advil in toothpaste to zap blemishes…. well you get the point. I was in the salon with a head full of foils, reading Allure’s 2011 Beauty Report, when this little guy caught my eye. Listen, all you have to do is whisper the words “European secret with recent FDA approval” and I’m game. La Roche-Posay’s effaclar duo acne treatment has apparently been available to our overseas cousins for quite a while, but now the goodies have crossed the Atlantic and found their way into our own drawers.

photo courtesy of laroche-posay.us

I decided I had to try it straight away. So I not only got the treatment that comes in a tiny tube, but also the cleansing face wash.

photo courtesey of laroche-posay.us

The Euro brains behind this skincare goodie sell it with a 3 day promise. 3 days! Now who wouldn’t want Cate Blanchett skin in a mere 72 hours. So I washed my face way more consistently than I ever had, I put the cream on every morning and night, and man did I see a difference! My skin looked radiant, it felt like what I imagine a facelift would make you feel, all of a sudden it was like someone had replaced my skin with the skin I had when I was 8… a little too small for my face, but if the Real Housewives franchise has taught me anything, that’s the look people are going for right?

But then, come day 4: I was dying. Seriously. My face felt like it had been rubbed raw with sand paper. I made the mistake of watching the Kim Kardashian Wedding special, and my skin was so raw I couldn’t correctly drop my jaw at the jaw dropping moments, the tears that flowed when dear Kimmie started talking about her dad, felt like lava. I was shedding skin left and right faster than Kristin found guys to make out with in front of Stephen when Laguna Beach went to Mexico on spring break.

But all of a sudden, here it is on day 6 and my skin, well it’s not quite Cate Blanchett level but let’s be real, she’s definitely had some work done. I’m… kind of glowing. It’s almost like my skin just needed to shed a layer of itself and all the damage I’ve done to it through years of fake tanning, and sleeping in my makeup, and subjecting it to the routine of a college sorority girl for years. Literally, it’s the “I Used to Be Fat” product for your face, it puts you in a facial bootcamp. It’s gonna hurt a little, but in the end, when you look in the mirror, you know it’s been worth it.

So, buy I say. If you’ve got a sense of adventure, if you aren’t a “sensitive skin” person (because I’m not and can only imagine what I would have gone through if I was), and if you are looking for a way to rejuvenate your skin.

Mentionables: The best thing about this, you can buy it at CVS! ah-mazing! Warning: do not try if you have sensitive skin.

-L

